"Here Be Dragons is a wonderful little gem of a book. It’s clever, it’s funny, and it’s just so heart-breakingly wholesome." The Fantasy Inn 

Perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams, Here Be Dragons is an action packed, comic fantasy full of unexpected heroes, dastardly villains, chases, escapes, questionable career choices, ill-fitting trousers and an ill-tempered donkey (as if there was any other kind). 

"When Orus graduated from the Cromalot School for Heroes he was ready for a life of glory and adventure. But after being seduced by his first damsel in distress, he quickly learns the heroing life doesn't bring in the steady income required to raise a family.

Twenty years later, with his son all grown up and his waistband all grown out, a favour for a friend gives Orus one last shot at the life he always wanted. But any old hero can slay a dragon, this old hero has to save one."
 

Available now on Kindle and in paperback.  Sign up to the newsletter to be kept up to date.

Cover by Rachel Lawston www.lawstondesign.com

 

Here Be Dragons:

A novel novel

Cover shot of Here Be Dagons - Knight and monk battle dragon
 

Who does he think he is?

David Macpherson is an author, screenwriter and performance poet. He grew up in wilds of the Highlands of Scotland and now lives in Edinburgh. In the past he has worked in an industrial grain dryer, an MP’s constituency office, the House of Lords, the Police and a swimming pool, but not necessarily in that order.

He was one of the winners of the 2015 Neil Gaiman Modern Fables Short Story Competition, won the Edinburgh Short Film Festival Script Pitch Contest (2017), has been shortlisted for the Red Planet Screenwriting Prize (2016) and the All3Media New Voices Screenwriting Award (2018). He came fourth in the Hammer & Tongue UK Poetry Slam Championship (2017). His first novel, Here Be Dragons, was published in April 2018 and he is uncomfortable talking about himself in the third person.

His agent is Jonathan Kinnersley at The Agency 

 

Poetry

"David is a stand out performer. His quick wit and sharp use of language never fail to wow an audience!" The Loud Poets

 

I write and perform poetry on such varied subjects as: instant coffee, cinema, the joy of sweat, deadly ceilidhs, mosh-pits, beards, and puppy delivery services. Audiences seem to like it; publishers, not so much.

In 2017 I came fourth in the Hammer & Tongue UK Poetry Slam Championship and in 2018 I took my first solo show 'Odes to Joy' to the Edinburgh Festival.

 

Sign-up to my newsletter to be kept up to date on performances.

For bookings please contact me using the form below.

 

Screenwriting

My spec scripts Stratus and Wrath have been shortlisted for the Red Planet Prize (2016) and the All3Media New Voices Award (2018). In 2017 I won the Edinburgh Short Film Festival's Script Pitch contest for my short film Capes.

For screenwriting enquiries please contact Jonathan Kinnersley at The Agency

 

Free stories

Mutually Assured Destruction

Winner - Neil Gaiman Modern Fables Short Story Competition

Brass River Sunrise

Chosen for Story Shop at the Edinburgh International Book Festival 2015

Last Regrets

Joint Winner - www.fantasy-faction.com monthly short story contest winner, July 15

The Four Orchsiremen

Winner - www.fantasy-faction.com monthly short story contest, Oct 14

 

Stay in touch

Want to be first to hear about new books, events, news and all that other good stuff? Sign up to my newsletter here.

Want to ask a question? Email me with the form below.

 

© 2018 by David Macpherson. Pictures courtesy of  Perry Jonsson, Jenny Kerr, Freya Llyod & Victoria Woodcock

Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon