"Here Be Dragons is a wonderful little gem of a book. It’s clever, it’s funny, and it’s just so heart-breakingly wholesome." The Fantasy Inn 

Perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams, Here Be Dragons is an action packed, comic fantasy full of unexpected heroes, dastardly villains, chases, escapes, questionable career choices, ill-fitting trousers and an ill-tempered donkey (as if there was any other kind). 

"When Orus graduated from the Cromalot School for Heroes he was ready for a life of glory and adventure. But after being seduced by his first damsel in distress, he quickly learns the heroing life doesn't bring in the steady income required to raise a family.

Twenty years later, with his son all grown up and his waistband all grown out, a favour for a friend gives Orus one last shot at the life he always wanted. But any old hero can slay a dragon, this old hero has to save one."
 

Available now on Kindle and in paperback.  Sign up to the newsletter to be kept up to date.

Cover by Rachel Lawston www.lawstondesign.com

 

Here Be Dragons:

A novel novel

HBD e-book cover image.jpg

Who does he think he is?

David Macpherson is an author, screenwriter and performance poet. He grew up in wilds of the Highlands of Scotland and now lives in Edinburgh. In the past he has worked in an industrial grain dryer, an MP’s constituency office, the House of Lords, the Police and a swimming pool, but not necessarily in that order.

His published his first novel, Here Be Dragons, in April 2018 and he is uncomfortable talking about himself in the third person.

His agent is Jonathan Kinnersley at The Agency 

Poetry

"David is a stand out performer. His quick wit and sharp use of language never fail to wow an audience!" The Loud Poets

 

David writes and performs poetry on such varied subjects as: instant coffee, cinema, the joy of sweat, deadly ceilidhs, mosh-pits, beards, and puppy delivery services.

In 2017 he came fourth in the Hammer & Tongue UK Poetry Slam Championship and in 2018 took his first solo show 'Odes to Joy' to the Edinburgh Festival.

For bookings please contact me using the form below.

Stay in touch

Want to be first to hear about new books, events, news and all that other good stuff? Sign up to my newsletter here.

Want to ask a question? Email me with the form below.

Screenwriting

David's Scottish crime drama WRATH was selected for the 2019 TV Brit List of the best unproduced scripts in the UK. He currently has original TV projects in development with Amazon Studios, the BBC, Wild Mercury Productions, Bryan Elsley’s Balloon Entertainment, AGC Studios, and Academy Award nominee Matthew Charman’s Binocular Productions. His scripts have previously been shortlisted for the Red Planet Prize and the Edinburgh TV Festival New Voices Awards.

For screenwriting enquiries please contact Jonathan Kinnersley at The Agency

© 2020 by David Macpherson. Pictures courtesy of  Perry Jonsson, 

Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon